I have a SUPER POWER!

Can my life get any more dramatic…I suppose it could, but sheesh, test my patience…it was a roller-coaster weekend with ‘friend’ issues…

I’ve come to understand that I’m a ‘superfeeler’and how that affects my eating.  I think.

A couple situations happened this weekend that ‘shouldn’t’ have gotten me as agitated as they did.  But they did.

Friday night was awesome…I had a great time, it was a great bunch of people, and I really needed it…a lot of fun!  But the rest of my weekend felt like a bit of a mess.

I feel like my emotions are on hyper-drive…and I think that they shouldn’t be, so that makes me even more emotional..but I thought about it in the car on the way to work today…so what?..that’s how I am.

I am a ‘superfeeler’.  Yes, I like that term better than ‘overly emotional’.  I don’t just get mildly annoyed at something.  I get super upset and really damn annoyed.   That isn’t necessarily a bad thing when it’s a ‘positive’ emotion like loving someone, or caring about someone…I suppose.

I think I am hard on myself up for how I react to stuff because I think I should be reacting differently

So, i’ts okay that this upset me, it’s okay that i feel passionatly about things.

I eat to ‘calm’ the superfeelings I have because to face them is overwhelming.

It’s easier to stick something in your mouth and eat mindlessly.

And then get mad about that instead of facing the unknown emotions…or why exactly you feel the way you do about something.

I swear, the littlest comment can set me off, but i don’t want to deal with figuring out why that comment is setting me off (probably has to deal with mounds of unresolved guilt and unworthiness I feel)

So I go eat chips or a piece of cheese.

It’s the same with exercise….but almost reverse..I have some sort of mental block towards it.  It’s easier to sit than walk…walking reminds me of how out of shape I am and how difficult it is to bend down to tie my shoes, and then beat myself up for having gotten to this point

I guess the best thing I can do right now, is at least just acknowledge that it’s okay to feel so strongly about things.  I need to let myself feel, and get my husband or friends to talk me down.  I don’t have to feel guilty for feeling that way in the first place. Or guilty for needing my friends and family to support me.

Watch out, here I come I’m Super Feeling Woman! Hear me Scream (and cry, and shriek, and laugh)!

3 comments on “I have a SUPER POWER!

  1. Great post! I know exactly how you feel. It’s amazing how much feelings and emotions can affect eating and food. While I’ve eaten to soothe in the past, I currently restrict food when the emotions get to be too much for me. I never really noticed it in the past, but now I can pinpoint the exact moment when it changes… emotions get crazy and I completely lose my appetite immediately. I think awareness is the first step. 🙂 Best of luck with your journey and super power! 🙂

    • myiejourney says:

      Thanks so much 🙂 I’m trying to do the same. Now that I’m being more aware of my feeling, even though I feel the need to eat, I don’t. I try to write, or at least reflect and analyze what’s going on. Last night I actually skipped dinner. I had a half a bag of chips and a beer instead. Not a good choice, I know…but normally I would have also had dinner (which probalby would have been pizza and chicken wings)..but I knew I wasn’t really that hungry.

  2. cubngirl6 says:

    “Watch out, here I come I’m Super Feeling Woman! Hear me Scream (and cry, and shriek, and laugh)!”

    Thank you so much for writing this post! 🙂 This is the best way to describe how I feel at this very moment. And its great to know I’m not alone. My inspiration to keep going especially today, right now.

Leave a comment